Tea treats from Adagio Teas, Chicago

Standard

Wall of tea at Adagio Tea in ChicagoWhen we were in Chicago for the Randolph Street Market 2 weeks ago, we stayed right across the street from the Adagio Tea Shop.  Tea is one of those worldly traditions that has slowly crept up on me and become an obsession.  Lets be honest here: a few years ago, I turned my nose up at the thought of adding milk and sugar to black tea.  Being the southern girl that I am, I’ve never even been that into Sweet Tea, y’all.  But when you marry an Indian, you marry into the British-steeped tradition of having tea.  It’s just a pat of life.  And what a ritualistic part of life it has become.  I have grown to love tea, and to crave tea.  There really is a tea for so many parts of my life.  There’s a tea for pre-yoga, a tea for working on the computer, a tea for creating, a tea for winding down, and a tea for tummy aches.  So you can only imagine the joy when I saw Adagio smiling up at me when I looked out our hotel window.

Adagio Teas is such an inviting shop.  Very different from Teavana, which has remarkable teas, and equally un-remarkable, aggressive sales agendas that will make you want to scream and run from their shop (but that’s a whole other story!)  Walk into Adagio, and you are greeted by friendly, knowledgeable tea enthusiasts, bright and clean lines, beautiful teas and carafes, beautiful smells, and samples of any tea you’d like to try!  The shopping decisions were tough, but we finally settled on the Earl Grey Bravo, which is beautifully rich black tea flavored with citrusy bergamot.  We also got one called White Fire Chai,White Fire Chaithat is not available online (you can call the store and order it); it’s a fiery blend of silver needle, white sage, and various peppercorns, and it is amazing.  Brew a cup of this and you’ve got a metabolism boosting, cure-what-ails-you, heart-warming cup of heat!

I look forward to our next trip to Chicago, when I plan on stocking up on more tea treats.  I think the Cherry Green and Spiced Apple Chai are on my list!

 

About Carter Seibels

I have a fascination with the world at large, and all of its people. The things we make, eat, wear, discard. There is so much to explore, so much to see, so much to feel, taste, smell, touch. There's much too much to do, to sit around on the couch. I have an eye for color and a sense for the unusual, and I love to travel, to explore, to have my senses dazzled. I gather my findings, the things that catch my eye, here- to share with you and all who might chance this way, with joy and thanksgiving for the beautiful world in which we live.

Leave a Reply

