Jingle Magic

Standard

Jingle, jingle.  Do you hear the bells?  I hereby officially announce that I have returned to my hippie roots.  I’m wearing bells.   I sound like your dog, but I can’t get enough of the sound.  I’m not sure what it is about bells that I’m so entranced by, but I’ve been a bell lover all my life.

As I told you in my last post, we just got our first shipment of Nepali goods.  There are so many amazing treasures inside the box that I can hardly stand it.  And among the treasures are necklaces made from Sari silk, with dangling brass Indian bells.  They are handmade by our friend in Nepal.  The jingle on these bells is so clear, but so subtle at the same time.  And the fraying of the sari silk is very magical to me, reminds me of the Prayer flags that fly in the Himalayas, carrying prayers on the wind.
In India, these bells would be worn by pregnant mothers while they carry their baby.  The infant associates the sound of the bell with its mother.  After birth, the sound of the bell lets the baby know that its mother is near.  Beautiful!


In addition to the Indian bells, I’ve also been wearing a vintage African brass bell in this bracelet that I’ve called India, Meet Africa.  The gentle sound that comes from this bell is so sweet.
So that’s my jingle for today.  Do you like bells?  Share your jingle magic with me.
About Carter Seibels

I have a fascination with the world at large, and all of its people. The things we make, eat, wear, discard. There is so much to explore, so much to see, so much to feel, taste, smell, touch. There's much too much to do, to sit around on the couch. I have an eye for color and a sense for the unusual, and I love to travel, to explore, to have my senses dazzled. I gather my findings, the things that catch my eye, here- to share with you and all who might chance this way, with joy and thanksgiving for the beautiful world in which we live.

Leave a Reply

